Confronting a DUI first offense in the State of Colorado – or any other state for that matter – can be a harrowing experience – especially if you have never had any other type of previous encounter with the police. A variety of concerns can keep you deadlocked and confused about how to proceed once you have been arrested and released, but it is important to remember that you are not alone and there are legal professionals available to help you through. It is imperative that you contact a Colorado DUI Defense Attorney as soon as possible after your charge.
If you are facing a DUI first offense in Colorado, call 303-725-0017
Payment plans and financing are available to qualified clients
Your initial consultation is free
No one in the United States is immune to prosecution, if and when they are caught driving under the influence. Teachers, doctors, lawyers and even federal circuit court judges have been pulled over and made to face drunken driving and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) charges. It is not fun, and the experience can be absolutely humiliating – especially when you consider all of the areas of your life that can be affected by a conviction.
OUR DENVER CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY IS READY TO HELP
Regardless of who you are, if you are convicted of a DUI first offense in Colorado, you will face:
- Incarceration in the county jail for 5 days up to a year
- Fines that range from $600 up to $1,000
- A suspension of your driving privileges for 9 months
- An assessment of 12 points onto your driver’s license
- An obligation to community service from 48 hours up to 96 hours
- Driver’s license reinstatement fees
- Increased auto insurance
Some offenders convicted of a DUI first offense may be given the opportunity to attend a state approved alcohol treatment program instead of serving jail time, but this is not a guaranteed option for every drunken driver. The results of Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) testing and the circumstances surrounding their arrests will be taken into consideration before any such concessions are made. Some of the circumstances that might influence the court to impose harsher sentencing include:
- BAC of 0.17 percent or greater
- The presence of a minor in the vehicle at the time an offender was pulled over for DUI
- Property damages incurred as a result of drunken driving
- Personal injuries or fatalities caused by the drunken driver
- A host of factors can play a role in the charges that a drunk driving offender will face. This is why it is vital to contact an aggressive and experienced DUI attorney, when and if you are ever accused and arrested for driving while intoxicated
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI first offense in the State of Colorado, pick up the phone and speak with an attorney. The situation can be very uncomfortable, but you are entitled to a solid legal defense. It may help to know that the legal professionals who handle drunken driving cases are not judging you. In fact, their goals are to ensure that your arrest was conducted within the law and that your rights are upheld. You may be under the impression that the police and prosecutors have all the evidence that they need to secure a conviction against you. However, there are legal defenses to charges of DUI, and an attorney may be able to help spare you the costly and inconvenient consequences of being found guilty.
If you are facing a DUI first offense in Colorado, call 303-725-0017!
Payment plans and financing are available to qualified clients.
Your initial consultation is free.
The Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. provides representation to clients who have been arrested for DUI first offense in Denver, Parker, Golden, Centennial, Brighton and Kiowa, Colorado.