Denver Marijuana Possession Lawyer

Did Someone Get Arrested/Charged for Buying, Selling, or Over-Possessing Marijuana in CO?

If you or someone you know has been arrested for

  • buying (possessing) more than the legal limit of 28 grams
  • selling to someone illegally
  • Possession of large quantities without proper licensing
  • Failure to appear in court for a marijuana charge
  • DUI – Yes, it is illegal to consume marijuana and drive. Likewise, it may be carried in a vehicle, but not in an open container.

Because Colorado is becoming something of a tourist destination, we have large groups entering the state with a single purpose: To buy marijuana. In some cases, people arrive expecting to smoke their treasure on the streets. Big mistake. The Rocky Mountain Police are cracking down on open-air Rocky Mountain highs.

Also, some come to the state with the mistaken assumption that they can buy as much as they want and take it home. Beware. Although there would be nothing stopping someone from going to several marijuana dispensaries and stocking up, the legal limit for possession is just under an ounce (28 g). Any more and if caught, the penalties can be severe.

If you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with a marijuana law, you need to contact Denver’s Criminal Defense Attorney, Matthew Martin right now. Call 303-725-0017.

What are the Penalties for violating Colorado Marijuana Law?

The penalties for violating marijuana laws in Colorado vary widely according to the quantities in question and the specific violation. In addition, the city of Denver has its own laws regulating consumption and use of marijuana.

  • For instance, the ordinance against public consumption is city, not state. Thus, the penalty for violating this law is a small fine.
  • Contrasting this, the penalty for excessive possession are state charges and can be as high as two years’ incarceration and up to $100,000 in fines.
  • In the case of illegal sales/distribution, prison terms range from six months to 32 years + fines up to $1,000,000.
  • A conviction for Cultivation of more than 6 plants can land a person in prison for between 6 months and two years facing fines up to $100,000.
  • A Cultivation conviction totaling more than 30 plants = two to six years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
  • More than one ounce = between six months and two years plus between $5000 and $100,000 in fines
  • Hash Distribution charges of more than 2 ounces can result in a conviction of between six months and 32 years plus between $5000 and $1,000,000 in fines.
  • Paraphernalia – is a petty offense resulting in a fine of $100

Bear in mind too that any charges related to a controlled substance, regulated marijuana, is also subject to severe additional penalties if minors are involved.

What to Do if Arrested on Marijuana Charges?

There are two key things you need to do if arrested on marijuana charges of any kind. Whether you think the charges are serious or not, state or local, do these two things if you care about your future.

  1. Exercise your right to silence. Your defense begins the moment you tell investigators that you will not answer questions. Which brings us to…
  2. Call the Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. at (303) 725-0017

Let investigators know that you are not interested in speaking with them unless your attorney, Matthew A Martin is present. Then be silent.

The Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. is located at 1873 S. Bellaire Street Suite 200, Denver, CO 80222. The Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. has been helping the people of Denver fight cases of DUI, Drug possession, and more since 2003. In that time, the rights of hundreds have been protected. Read some Success Stories here.

Some Useful Resources

NORML Colorado Laws & Penalties

PotGuide. Marijuana Laws in Colorado

Retail Marijuana use Within the City Limits of Denver

State of Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry

Amendment 64 Use and Regulation of Marijuana (pdf)

Article XVIII, Section 16:  Personal Use and Regulation of Marijuana, Colorado Constitution 

Colorado Revised Statutes 2013 TITLE 18 CRIMINAL CODE (pdf)