Committing assault on an intimate partner is classified as a domestic violence crime. That means if you’re charged and convicted, you’ll be facing an extended criminal sentence. A domestic assault conviction can result in a lengthy jail sentence, extensive treatment programs, and even a restraining order. These penalties could not only cost you your job, but your home and if you share children with the victim you may even have to surrender custody of them.
If you or someone you know has been charged with domestic assault, it’s within your best interest to hire an experienced Denver domestic violence defense lawyer today. Often cases of domestic assault involve abuse on both parties, but unfortunately the one arrested and deemed the “aggressor” by law enforcement is charged. This skewed outlook can affect the jury’s decision and result in a criminal conviction even if the alleged victim was lying.
Denver Domestic Assault Lawyer, Colorado
It’s not just important, but imperative you hire an experienced domestic violence lawyer as soon as possible if you’ve been arrested for domestic assault. Both the statutory and collateral consequences of the crime are just too great to handle on your own. Thankfully, you can contact Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. to learn more about your legal options in detail.
Attorney Matthew Martin has defended numerous people facing domestic violence charges. He understands how delicate and complicated these cases can be. That is why he treats every client with the utmost dignity and respect while building a formidable defense to fight their charges. To set up your first consultation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. call our office at (303) 725-0017.
Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver area including Boulder County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Adams County, Arapahoe County, and Broomfield County.
- What Does Colorado Define as Domestic Assault?
- Penalties for Domestic Assault in Colorado
- Additional Resources
What Does Colorado Define as Domestic Assault?
Domestic assault under Colorado law isn’t a separate offense. Instead, the court will enhance the penalties if there’s sufficient evidence the assault was against an intimate partner. Assault in Colorado is defined as someone intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly inflicting a bodily injury to another person. The injury does not need to be serious for the crime to qualify as assault.
Domestic violence, under the Colorado statutes, is defined as “an act or threatened act of violence upon a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship.” Meaning any threats against property, animals, or people if used to coerce, control, intimidate, or inflict revenge against the victim is also considered domestic assault.
Take note, an intimate relationship in Colorado is any relationship between:
- Former Spouses
- Past Married Couples
- Present Married Couples
- Parents of the Same Child Regardless of Relationship
Penalties for Domestic Assault in Colorado
Colorado categorizes the severity of an assault crime by which degree it’s under. Domestic assault cases without any aggravating factors is a class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by:
- Up to 2 years in jail
- A fine of up to $5,000
The crime will be elevated to second-degree domestic assault if you cause serious bodily harm or drug the victim without their consent. Second-degree domestic assault is a class 4 felony, which can result in the following:
- Up to 6 years in prison
- A fine of up to $500,000
The highest penalty for domestic assault is in the first-degree. You may be charged with first-degree assault if you do one of the following during the commission of the crime:
- Intentionally cause serious bodily injury with a deadly weapon
- Disfigure the victim permanently
- Amputate, disable, or destroy a body part or organ of the victim
- Was engaging in actions that created a substantial risk of death to the victim ultimately causing serious bodily injury due to your extreme indifference to the value of human life
First-degree domestic assault is a class 3 felony punishable by:
- Up to 32 years in prison
- A fine of up to $750,000
Rape Abuse Incest National Network | RAINN – Visit the official website of the Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network (RAINN), the largest organization against sexual violence worldwide. Access the site to learn about their sexual assault hotline, statistics for domestic violence offenses, survivor stories who lived through domestic abuse, and more.
Colorado Assault Laws | CRS – Visit the official website of the Colorado Revised Statutes to learn more about their laws for offenses against a person. Access their legislation to learn about assault, menacing, and how they are both enhanced if it’s found to be a domestic violence crime.
Denver Attorney for Domestic Assault | Colorado Domestic Violence Laws
If you or someone you know is facing charges for domestic assault, it’s time you call a professional. Get in contact with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. to discover your legal options and create a game plan to fight your charges. While it might feel overwhelming, rest assured you have rights and an experienced defense attorney such as Matthew Martin can help you exercise them.
Call (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation free of charge today.