Although driving under the influence (DUI) laws were already pretty harsh, in 2015 the state of Colorado enacted new DUI laws which would raise the stakes for some drinking and driving crimes to a felony. The new legislation requires felony DUI offenders to spend at a minimum 90 days in jail, regardless of the offense. A felony DUI conviction may also result in a license suspension, the label as a “persistent drunk driver” (PDD), and the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Unfortunately, the consequences for a felony DUI tend to extend past sentencing. Many convicted felons have a difficult time finding employment, appropriate housing, and may have their admissions denied from their University or other higher education institute. For these reasons and more, we highly encourage you to seek legal counsel if you’ve been arrested for drinking and driving in Colorado.
Felony DUI Defense Attorney in Denver, Colorado
Regardless of your drunken driving history or the severity of the circumstances that led to your arrest, you are entitled to legal representation before the courts. Our Denver DUI defense attorney Matthew Martin at Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. has helped many clients, just like you, who were scared, embarrassed and confused. Do not give up without mounting the strong brand of defense our office offers. Your job, reputation and future are at stake.
Contact our office today at (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation free of charge. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver area and surrounding counties including Adams County, Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Broomfield County, and Boulder County.
- Is a 4th DUI a Felony in Colorado?
- Is Vehicular Assault a Felony in Colorado?
- How Many Years is Vehicular Homicide in Colorado?
- Additional Resources
Is a 4th DUI a Felony in Colorado?
The majority of drunk driving offenses in Colorado are classified as a misdemeanor. However, once you’ve hit your fourth DUI charge, the state puts its foot down and elevates the crime to a felony. Facing felony charges will mean you are now facing a potential prison sentence, higher fines, as well as an extended probation sentence.
In Colorado, a fourth or subsequent DUI or DUI per se conviction will result in a class 4 felony. The maximum penalties for a class 4 felony include the following:
- Up to six years of imprisonment with a minimum of two years
- A court fine between $2,000 and $500,000
- License suspension for up to two years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
- Labeled a persistent drunk driver (PDD) by the DMV
- Complete alcohol or drug treatment courses provided by the DMV
In Colorado, there are no look-back periods in regard to DUI. The court can use any previous DUI conviction you have to enhance your sentence, even if the crime happened 10 or 20 years ago. Some Colorado residents charged with DUI are shocked to learn they’ll face felony charges for an offense they committed in their early twenties or teens. Unfortunately, the state of Colorado does not take heed to this and will not hesitate to charge you with a felony DUI if you’ve been convicted of the crime three times prior.
Is Vehicular Assault a Felony in Colorado?
The chances of being involved in a car accident skyrockets after having a few drinks statistically. For that reason, the state of Colorado has classified vehicular assault as a felony. The crime vehicular assault is when an individual has been driving under the influence and caused an accident where another sustained a serious bodily injury. Colorado defines a “serious bodily injury” as any injury that causes the following:
- Protracted loss or impairment of a bodily organ
- Breaks or fractures of the bone
- Serious permanent disfigurement
- Third or second-degree burns
- A substantial and reasonable risk of death
A conviction for vehicular assault will result in a class 4 felony, which is punishable by:
- Up to 6 years in prison with a minimum of 2 years
- A fine between $2,000 and $500,000
How Many Years Is Vehicular Homicide in Colorado?
The DUI charge with the most life-changing penalties is vehicular homicide. The crime is very similar to vehicular assault, but the crash results in the accidental death of another person. While these crimes are often devastating for everyone involved, the state will come after you with force for committing the crime. Even if the death was simply an accident.
Vehicular homicide in Colorado is a class 3 felony if intoxicated drinking was the cause of the accident. The maximum sentence for a class 3 felony in Colorado for vehicular homicide is:
- Up to 12 years in prison with a minimum of 4 years
- A fine between $3,000 and $750,000
In addition to the penalties above, the victim’s family is entitled to file a claim against you in civil court for wrongful death if they wish.
Driving Under the Influence | Colorado Revised Statutes – Follow the link to the official Colorado Revises Statutes (CRS) provided to learn more about the state’s DUI laws. You can find more information about DUI, DUI per se, and DWAI. Find out more about how juveniles are charged, commercial drivers, and what penalties they may face.
DUI Penalties | Colorado DMV – Visit the official website of the Colorado DMV to learn more about their administrative penalties for a second DUI. You can learn about expressed consent, what happens if you refuse BAC testing, alcohol courses, information about DMV hearings and reinstating an out-of-state license in Colorado.
Felony DUI Lawyer in Denver, Colorado
Are you looking for a Denver Felony DUI Attorney to represent your case? If so, contact our firm today. Matthew Martin, our Denver DUI defense lawyer, works extensively in the field of criminal law representing DUI (Driving Under the Influence) and DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) offenders. Even if you were involved in a DUI accident, your alleged drunkenness does not mean that you were necessarily the cause of the car accident. We will fight these claims to blame you on your behalf. If they can’t prove it with evidence, you cannot be convicted.
Call (303) 725-0017 now to set up your first consultation free of charge. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver metropolitan area and surrounding counties including Adams County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Arapahoe County, and Boulder County.