Despite the new advances made by financial institutes, checks are still a pretty common occurrence in Colorado. When checks are used with the intention to defraud another person it’s often referred to as check fraud. These crimes are committed when a person uses a check to pay for property, items, or services and they knowingly don’t have sufficient funds.
Twenty years ago, it would take weeks and in some cases months for a vendor to realize a check was bad. Now with advancements in technology, merchants are alerted a check is faulty almost immediately. They can then quickly file a criminal complaint that will result in your criminal arrest. If you or someone you know has been charged with writing a bad check, it’s within your best interest to obtain guidance from a Colorado bad check attorney today.
Bad Check Defense Lawyer in Denver, Colorado
Have you been accused of writing a bad check? If so, it’s important you get started on your defense as soon as possible. Matthew Martin of Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. has over 20 years of experience he can utilize for your case. His years as both a prosecutor and defense attorney can give you an inside look into the other side and how they approach their cases.
Call (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation with attorney Matthew Martin today. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver area including Boulder County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Adams County, Arapahoe County, and Broomfield County.
- What Does it Mean to Write a Bad Check in Colorado?
- Penalties for Writing a Bad Check
- Additional Resources
What Does it Mean to Write a Bad Check in Colorado?
Checks are a type of financial device used to pay for property, items, or services. Using a check can become a fraud offense if the issuer writes a check to pay for something without sufficient funds. You must know you have insufficient funds before you pay to be charged with check fraud. If the merchant finds the check is bad, they can file a criminal complaint with the state.
According to the statutes “insufficient” funds is when the drawer does not have enough money in their account. Checks dishonored for having “no account” are also considered to have insufficient funds. For example, if you wrote a check to purchase a diamond ring and had no account tied to the check, then you’ll still be charged with check fraud.
What Happens If I Write a Bad Check in Colorado?
Listed below is a chart that details the penalties for writing a bad check in Colorado.
|Value of Property, Items, or Services Defrauded||Criminal Offense Type||Maximum Sentencing|
|Less than $50||Class 1 Petty Offense||
|$50 or more but less than $300||Class 3 Misdemeanor||
|$300 or more but less than $750||Class 2 Misdemeanor||
|$750 or more but less than $2,000||Class 1 Misdemeanor||
|$2,000 or more.||Class 6 Felony||
Bad Check Laws in Colorado – Visit the official website for the Colorado Revised Statutes to read up on their laws pertaining to bad checks. Access the site to learn what makes a check faulty, admissible defenses, and the penalties for writing a bad check.
Jury Instructions for Check Fraud – Visit the official website for the Colorado Courts to read up on the jury instructions for check fraud. Access the site to read the document the jurors themselves will have on their desk when deliberating a decision on your charges.
Check Fraud Attorney in Denver, Colorado
If you or someone you know has been charged with writing a bad check, it’s time you start building your defense. The prosecution will have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you knowingly defrauded the alleged victim. A skilled and experienced defense attorney such as Matthew Martin at Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. can dissect the prosecution’s argument and present a defense that casts doubt on their case.
Call (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. today.