Click to Call: (303) 725-0017

Felony or Grand Theft

Stealing from one another is one of the oldest and most common crimes committed in human history. Across the United States, including Colorado, it’s illegal to take property, cash, or items without the consent of the owner. The penalties for the crime of theft will vary based on the property stolen. While most cases of theft will result in a petty offense or misdemeanor, the charge can be reclassified to a felony in certain circumstances.

Theft of more than $2,000 is grand theft, which is another term for felony-level theft. The penalties for Colorado felony theft are incredibly harsh and could uproot your day-to-day life as you know it. A conviction could result in prison time, expensive court fines, and eventual restitution payments towards the alleged victim.

If you or someone you know has been charged with felony theft, it’s within your best interest to contact Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C..

Felony Theft Defense Attorney in Denver, Colorado

When faced with criminal charges, it’s not uncommon to get overwhelmed and shut down. However, you shouldn’t give up yet. You still have rights and legal options as an American citizen and can exercise those by hiring an experienced Colorado larceny defense lawyer. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. has over two decades of trial experience on both the defense and prosecution’s side. Attorney Martin can utilize his insight into the District Attorney’s office to build an effective defense for you.

Schedule your first consultation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. by calling our number at (303) 725-0017. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the Denver area and nearby counties including Boulder County, Adams County, Jefferson County, Arapahoe County, and Broomfield County.

Information Center:

 


Back to top

What’s Grand Theft in Colorado?

Grand theft is another term commonly used for theft offenses classified as a felony. Colorado defines felony theft as stealing any cash, property, or items that are valued at $2,000 or more. The scope of theft crimes is quite broad and includes various different scenarios. The following are some examples of felony theft in Colorado:

  • Shoplifting expensive items valued at $2,000 or more
  • Stealing packages on someone’s doorstep valued at $2,000 or more
  • Depriving someone of property you co-own with another and not getting the approval of the co-owners
  • Taking out a loan valued at $2,000 or more and failing to return the money within 72 hours on the agreed-upon date
  • Stealing property valued at $2,000 or more by false pretenses

 


Back to top

What Amount of Stolen Money is Considered a Felony?

The state of Colorado classifies all theft of property or items valued at $2,000 or more as a felony. However, it does have different sentencing ranges for felony larceny depending on the items or property stolen. The crime may be reclassified if you’ve committed multiple counts of theft within a six-month period. The court may add the value of the items stolen in that period and then charge you with one theft count, ultimately enhancing the penalties.

Class 2 Felony Theft in Colorado

The harshest penalties a person can receive for theft is a class 2 felony. According to Colorado law, you’re guilty of a class 2 felony larceny offense if you stole at least $1 million worth of property or items. The maximum sentence you can receive for a class 2 felony is:

  • Up to 24 hours years in prison
  • Mandatory parole for 5 years
  • A fine of up to $1,000,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

Class 3 Felony Theft in Colorado

While it might not be the longest sentence for theft, a class 3 felony theft offense could derail your life. Stolen property valued at $100,00, but less than $1 million is classified as a class 3 felony. The maximum penalty the court can impose on you for a class 3 felony includes:

  • Up to 12 years in prison
  • Mandatory parole for 5 years
  • A fine of up to $750,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

Class 4 Felony Theft in Colorado

Stealing property with a market value at $20,000, but less than $100,000 will result in a class 4 felony. If convicted, you could face the following penalties:

  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • A mandatory 3-year parole
  • A fine of up to $500,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

Class 5 Felony Theft in Colorado

Taking or depriving someone of property or items valued at $5,000, but less than $20,000 is a class 5 felony. You may face the following punishment if convicted of class 5 felony theft.

  • Up to 3 years in prison
  • A mandatory 2-year parole
  • A fine of up to $100,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

Class 6 Felony Theft in Colorado

The lightest penalty for grand theft is a class 6 felony. While it might not result in decades in prison, a class 6 felony theft offense could still land you behind bars. The maximum sentence a person can receive for a class 6 felony includes:

  • Up to one-and-a-half (1 ½) years in prison
  • Mandatory parole for a year
  • A fine of up to $100,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

 


Back to top

Penalties for Pick-Pocketing an Elderly or Disabled Person in CO

The harsh penalties of theft may be subject to enhancement if the victim was considered to be “at-risk.” An “at-risk” person under Colorado law includes:

  • Any adult at the age of 70 or older
  • Any adult who is 18 years old with a disability
  • Any adult over 18 who has an intellectual development disability
  • Any juvenile who has a disability

The penalties for theft may elevate if you committed the crime against an “at-risk” person and one of the following occurred:

  • The crime was committed in the victim’s presence
  • You were in a position of trust to the at-risk person
  • You knew the at-risk person personally or professionally

Theft against an at-risk adult or juvenile is a class 5 felony for any property valued at less than $500. The maximum punishment for a class 5 felony includes:

  • Up to 3 years in prison
  • A fine of up to $100,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

If the value taken from the at-risk person was at $500 or more, then the crime is reclassified to a class 3 felony. The maximum sentencing for a class 3 felony is as follows:

  • Up to 12 years in prison
  • Mandatory parole for 5 years
  • A fine of up to $750,000
  • Restitution payments to the victim

 


Back to top

Additional Resources

Colorado Revised Statues | Theft Offenses – Visit the official website for the Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) to read up on their laws regarding larceny and other comparable offenses. Access the site to learn the full definition of theft, the different types of theft, specific statutes for certain theft offenses, and other valuable information.

Theft Statistics in Denver, Colorado | Denver PD – Visit the official website for the Denver Police Department to use their tool and look up various statistics in the city related to theft. Access the site to read arrest data for various theft offenses including money laundering, aggravated motor vehicle theft, theft of secrets, felony or petty theft, and other information.

 


Back to top

Overview of Felony Theft Laws | Grand Theft Lawyer in Denver, Colorado

If you or someone you know has been charged with felony theft, it’s time to act now. A felony theft conviction could put a hold on your personal and professional goals for years or possibly decades. Instead of pleading out, get in contact with Denver theft defense attorney at Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C..

Matthew Martin will tirelessly investigate, negotiate, and litigate for you on your behalf. With over 20 years representing his clients at trial, Matthew Martin knows what to expect and how to undermine the prosecution. Call (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation