Receiving Stolen Property
To prevent black markets of stolen goods, Colorado has joined other states in charging and convicting individuals believed to be involved in receiving stolen items. These kinds of goods are often associated with the motor vehicle and technology industries. Receiving stolen property is considered a theft crime in the state of Colorado.
Usually, the person alleged to have received stolen property is not also the same person who originally stole the items. Colorado law has a wide definition, making it relatively easy to charge someone with the offense. The offense is defined as obtaining control over any stolen thing of value and knowing that the thing was stolen. A defendant charged with this offense can be convicted of the crime even if the person who originally stole the property is not charged or convicted.
Denver Receiving Stolen Property Attorney
If you have been accused of receiving stolen property, contact Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C.. Criminal defense lawyer Matthew Martin at Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. is a skilled theft defense lawyer who uses his experience as a prosecutor to vigorously defend his clients. He knows what it takes to fight the prosecution, and he can help you present a solid defense against any criminal accusations.
To set up a free consultation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C., call (303) 725-0017 today. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver area including Golden, Lakewood, Broomfield, Boulder, Morrison, Centennial, and Englewood.
- Penalties for Receiving Stolen Property
- Defenses for Receiving Stolen Property
- Statute Of Limitations
- Additional Resources
The total value of the property determines the penalty for receiving stolen property — the greater the property value, the greater the penalty. Specific penalties can range from petty offenses to class 2 felonies.
- Petty offenses: valued less than $300 and can result in minimal jail time and a fine equal to or greater than the amount stolen.
- Misdemeanors: valued between $300 and $2000 and can result in up to 364 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
- Felony Class 6: valued between $2,000 and $5,000 and can result in 18 months in prison and $100,000 in fines.
- Felony Class 5: valued between $5,000 and $20,000 and can result in three years in prison and $100,000 in fines.
- Felony Class 4: Valued between $20,000 and $100,000 and can result in six years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
- Felony Class 3: Valued between $100,000 and $1,000,000 and can result in 12 years in prison and $750,000 in fines.
- Felony Class 2: Valued at $1,000,000 or more and can result in 24 years in prison and $1,000,000,000 in fines.
Because the above penalties can have severe impacts on those accused of receiving stolen property, it is essential to meet with an experienced criminal defense attorney to begin mounting the best defense possible for the facts of the case.
Several defenses are available to those accused of receiving stolen property. A few include:
- Lack of knowledge (defendant didn’t know the property was stolen);
- Claim of right to the property (defendant had good faith belief that they had the right to take the property, even if that belief was wrong); and
- Lost/abandoned property (defendant received lost/abandoned property, not stolen property).
In addition to the above-listed defenses, a criminal defense attorney can argue that a defendant did not exercise control over the property. Instead, perhaps the defendant was merely in the vicinity but was not controlling the property. Other defenses can include disputing the value of the property and the search and seizure.
A statute of limitation refers to the time frame a prosecuting attorney can charge someone with a crime. Usually, the time period starts when the offense allegedly occurred. For many crimes, prosecutors lose the opportunity to charge someone with a crime after a certain amount of time has passed. In Colorado, the statute of limitations for all crimes is determined by the type of crime and whether it is a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony-level crime. Like other felony-level theft offenses, prosecuting attorneys have three years to file a charge against a person for receiving stolen property crime. When a theft crime is charged as a misdemeanor, a prosecutor typically has 18 months to file a charge.
Colorado Law For Receiving Stolen Property – This statute succinctly defines the law as it applies to receiving stolen property.
Colorado Law For Felony-Level Offenses – This statute provides prison sentences, options for parole, and fines for a better understanding of felony-level convictions and possible penalties.
Colorado Receiving Stolen Property Lawyer | Denver, CO
If you have been charged with receiving stolen property in Colorado, it is important you begin building a defense to the charges early. Your future and reputation are important, and Denver criminal defense lawyer Matthew Martin at Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. can help you protect both.
Schedule a free consultation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. by calling (303) 725-0017. If you reside in Denver, CO or Adams County, Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Broomfield County, or Boulder County, reach out to us today. Mr. Martin is prepared to take your call.