Driving Under Restraint
Driving on a suspended or revoked license also known as driving under restraint is prohibited in the state of Colorado. It does not matter which state issued the driver’s license, if there’s a restraint currently in place the person can be charged. The penalties for driving under restraint depend on why your license was suspended/revoked in the first place.
Despite the fact it’s a victimless crime, driving under restraint in Colorado can yield serious penalties. Instead of pleading out and accepting the charges, fight for your rights. Hire an experienced traffic crimes attorney to defend your case and help you understand your legal options. With an accomplished lawyer on your side, the chances of your charges getting reduced or even outright dismissed increase significantly.
Suspended License Defense Lawyer in Denver, Colorado
If you or someone you know has been charged with driving while under a restraint, we urge you to get in contact with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C.. Matthew Martin has over 20 years of experience under his belt. He can file motions, compile compelling evidence, call upon experts or eyewitnesses, suppress evidence and do whatever’s necessary to undermine the prosecution’s argument. Don’t wait another moment as every second planning your defense is precious. Call Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. today.
Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. can be reached at (303) 725-0017, where you can set up your first consultation free of charge. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients. Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Denver metropolitan area and surrounding counties including Adams County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Arapahoe County, and Boulder County.
- What Does it Mean to Drive Under Restraint?
- Penalties for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Colorado
- Additional Resources
What Does it Mean to Drive Under Restraint in Colorado?
Driving under restraint (DUR) is simply another way to say a person is driving with a suspended or revoked license. A person can have their license suspended or revoked for multiple reasons. Usually, a person’s license is suspended or revoked because of one of the following reasons:
- They have enough points on their record to constitute a suspension
- They have an outstanding judgement such as child support
- They were convicted of DUI, DWAI, or UDD
- They were convicted a traffic offense such as reckless driving
What Happens If I Drive with a Suspended License in Colorado?
Listed below is a chart to help you understand the penalties for driving under restraint.
|Why License Was Suspended or Revoked||Penalties|
|Outstanding Judgment – This means you owe a debt such as child support or you violated a court order||Class A Traffic Infraction
|DUI, DWAI, or UDD – You were convicted of one of the three either in Colorado or another state.||First offense- Misdemeanor:
Your license reinstatement will also be extended for another year.
The judge won’t grant probation, or a suspended sentence in lieu of jail in these cases. However, if you drove due to an emergency, then the court will likely not impose the 30-day mandatory minimum jail sentence.
|Subsequent offense within five years of your first conviction – Misdemeanor:
You will also not be able to have your license reinstated for four years.
|Any other reason||First offense -Misdemeanor:
Your license suspension will also be extended for one more year.
|Subsequent offense within five years of your first conviction -Misdemeanor:
You will not be able to retain your driving privileges for 3 years.
Colorado Laws on License Suspensions – Visit the official website for the Colorado Revised Statutes to read up on their laws pertaining to license suspensions. Access the site to learn more about what could cause the DMV to suspend your license, and what would automatically instill a revocation.
How to Get Your License Reinstated | Colorado DMV – Visit the official website for the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles to read up on their process for reinstating your driving privileges. Access the site to learn how you can apply for reinstatement online, by mail, what’s required, and why you may be denied a license reinstatement.
Driving Under Restraint Attorney in Denver, Colorado
If you or someone you know has been arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license, find legal representation with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C.. Attorney Matthew Martin has in-depth knowledge on traffic laws in Colorado and can utilize that information to your benefit. Let Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C. guide you through the legal process so you can finally retain your driving privileges again.
Call (303) 725-0017 to set up your first consultation free with Law Office of Matthew A. Martin, P.C..