Denver Assault Lawyer
In the state of Colorado, assault is defined as knowingly or recklessly causing injury to another person. Offenses charged as assault in Colorado are classified as first, second or third degree assault, depending on the what actions were taken during the assault and the seriousness of the outcome.
Colorado Assault Crimes and Penalties
First Degree Assault
When a person intentionally causes serious bodily injury, whether by use of a deadly weapon, and whether against a peace officer or firefighter in the performance of their duties. A first degree assault is considered a class 3 felony. If it is considered a crime of passion, however, it will be charged as a class 5 felony.
- Class 3 felony – $3,000 to $750,000 in fines; 10 to 32 years incarceration
- Class 5 felony – $1,000 to $100,000 in fines; 2.5 to 8 years incarceration
Second Degree Assault
When a person intentionally causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon, recklessly causes serious bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous substance or intentionally causes bodily injury to a police officer or firefighter to prevent them from performing their duties. It is considered a class 4 felony, but if it is a crime of passion, it will be charged as a class 6 felony.
- Class 4 felony – $2,000 to $500,000 in fines; 5 to 16 years incarceration
- Class 6 felony – $1,000 to $100,000 in fines; 1.5 to 4 years incarceration
Third Degree Assault
When a person knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous substance or he or she knowingly threatens, annoys, harasses or injures a police officer, firefighter or EMT. Third degree assault is a class 1 misdemeanor. However, if the crime was committed on a peace officer or firefighter, harsher penalties may be imposed, up to twice the minimum sentence and/or fine.
- Class 1 misdemeanor – $500 to $5,000 in fines; 6 to 18 months incarceration
Denver Assault Attorney
It is possible for an assault to be committed in self defense. I recently had a Denver first degree assault case dismissed where my client was acting in self-defense when he threw a glass at his aggressor, cutting his face open. Despite the extensive facial injuries to the other party, the District Attorney dismissed my client’s case and we are sealing his record.
Assault is a serious crime in Colorado and requires serious representation. Trust a Denver assault defense attorney with a proven track record of winning assault cases at trial, or getting the charges dismissed altogether. Whether you are under investigation or have already been arrested, contact Denver criminal defense attorney Matthew Martin – (303) 725-0017.